Friday, September 13, 2013

National Merit Semifinalists Announced

We are proud to announce the semifinalists in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship program.

Creekview High School:
Joshua K. Choe
Matthew E. Estrada-Millican
Tiffany W. Leong

Newman Smith High School:
Rachel E. Acker
Cody Yao

R. L. Turner High School: 
Christy E. Purnadi
Valerie I. Fix
Krista R. Strom

Dr. Bobby Burns, Superintendent of Schools, said, "These students represent the saying – ‘effort produces achievement’. Their hard work has paid off. Congratulations. ”

The students are among 16,000 high school seniors who will continue in the National Merit Scholarship Corporation's competition for 8,000 merit scholarship awards worth $35 million that will be offered in the spring, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation press release.

Students are selected based on performance on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. National Merit Scholarship Corporation reports that the pool of semifinalists represents less than one percent of the top high school seniors in the nation.

Approximately 15,000 semifinalists become finalists. From the group of finalists, Merit Scholarship winners are determined according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. “Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies,” according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation press release.

More information about the National Merit Scholarship Program is available on the National Merit Scholarship Corporation website.

No comments: